When I started paleo one of the cardinal rules of the plan is to not eat dairy products. Having used milk in my cereal ( which is a huge no no also) and cream in my coffee daily.  I was a bit nervous not knowing how to substitute dairy from a staple in my first daily routine, my warm cup of java now had to be black and with no sugar. Ohhhh no!
 
Did you know that Milk, lactose and soy are all food allergic reactions. 
I bet you didn’t know milk along with soy is immune disorders.  Lactose is a digestive disorder.  Did you know that the immune system produces antibodies to fight the milk proteins.  And the antibodies produce chemicals in the body that can easily result in dermis, skin rashes, headaches, nausea and could cause wheezing.  
Lactose intolerance is the digestive systems ability to digest lactose. Lactose intolerance and cow’s milk allergic reactions are different food intolerance. But both are related to milk. Milk allergy is an immune system disorder while lactose intolerance is digestive disorder. 
Ok how about Soy?  Well soy allergic reaction is an auto-immune disorder. Soy allergic reaction is a typical food allergic reaction in infants along with kids. Soy ingredients are common in processed and manufactured food products. Soy is a frequent ingredient in fast food, restaurants, infant formula, cereals and salad dressing. Soybeans are a legume. The soy allergic reaction can extend to other foods in the legume. Legume consist of, navy beans, kidney beans, string peas, black bean, pinto beans, chickpeas, garbanzo beans, lentils, carob, licorice, as well as peanuts. Soybean allergies along with peanut allergic reactions are common. Many Chinese foods contain soy ingredients.
 
No foods with soy or dairy allowed in Paleo
 
Well on Feb 2 when I started Paleo, I went all in. I drank my first cup of BLACK coffee.  Now mind you it actually wasn’t as bad and bitter as I thought. Thank goodness, OK I can do this I thought.  I quickly began to realize that it truly matters what brand of coffee your drinking. Some are more bitter and stronger than others.  New England coffee is by far the best coffee I have tasted.  As time has gone on I found I wasn’t really enjoying my coffee black the acid and bitter taste in my mouth was not enjoyable.  So what could I do to make it the best cup of coffee for me?
I began the internet search for the best possible product to use in my coffee. I asked my family and friends that are paleo and they shared their favorites. 
 
So here is a list of Paleo approved as an alternative to cows milk or soy:
– Almond Milk: Contains calcium, lactose free and contains a host of vitamins and mineral. Almond milk is unsaturated fats and plant based.
– Coconut Milk: Contains calcium, lactose free and contains a host of vitamins and minerals. Coconut milk is saturated fats and plant based.
– Hazelnut Milk: Lactose free and contains host of vitamin and mineral. 75% unsaturated fats and approximately 04% saturated fats.
 
Like cow’s milk, almond milk contains calcium. Almond milk contains: magnesium, selenium, vitamin A and vitamin E. Hazelnut milk is milk from the hazelnut. Hazelnut milk is 75% unsaturated and lactose free. Coconut milk like cow’s milk is saturated fats and contains calcium. Unlike cow’s milk coconut milk is lactose free.  Coconut milk also contains: magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, vitamin C and vitamin E.

I now drink my coffee and enjoy every sip of it using either almond milk or coconut milk. It really depends on what I am in the mood for. When I am looking for more of a dessert coffee I will throw some cinnamon or apple spice and nutmeg in with some vanilla extract.  Mmmmmm.

Here are some awesome Paleo latte recipes, Enjoy;

Paleo Iced Latte 
 
Ingredients
2 shots espresso (about ¼  cup espresso or ½ cup strong decaffeinated coffee)
1/3 cup almond milk
3 teaspoons raw honey (to taste)
1 cup crushed ice
½ teaspoon nutmeg
Instructions
– Pour coffee in 2 separate glasses.
– Stir in almond milk and honey (stir well)
– Fill glasses with crushed ice.
– Serve and top with nutmeg
 
Paleo Hazelnut Eggnog
 
Ingredients
4 cups hazelnut milk
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. ground clove
1 tsp. cinnamon powder
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
¼ cup raw honey
2 ripe bananas (peeled)
Instructions
– Blend all together in a vita mix or blender. Add spices to taste.
–  Remove from blender.
–  Serve and top with nutmeg.
 
Paleo Pumpkin Latte Recipe
 
Ingredients
2 cups almond milk
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons raw honey (to taste)
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (unprocessed)
2 shots espresso (about 1/4 cup espresso or 1/2 cup strong decaffeinated coffee)
Instructions
– In a saucepan combine almond milk, pumpkin and honey.
– Cook on medium heat, stirring, until steaming.
– Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and spice, put into blender and blend for approximately 15 seconds until foamy.
– If you don’t have a blender, don’t worry about it – just whisk the mixture really well with a wire whisk.
– Pour into a large mug or two mugs. Add the espresso on top.
– Top with almond cream and add pumpkin spices, cinnamon or nutmeg

 

 
