The longer I am on Paleo and the better I start to look, more and more people  each day are asking me what I am doing? Emailing me to please send them information.  It is somewhat funny because I am actually enjoying the extra attention, and usually I  DO NOT  like the focus to be on me.  I know that what I am doing for myself and my body is so spectacular that I need to share it with the world.  Having this blog is a major part of keeping me “transparent therefore keeping me on track” (these words taken from the Paleo master herself Nichole my niece). 

So what is Paleo? “The Paleo Diet is a Lifestyle Change”.  This is what I explain to everyone who asks.

It mimics the diets of our hunter-gatherer ancestors – consisting of lean meats, seafood, vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds. It excludes foods that came from agriculture or processing – dairy, grains, refined sugars, etc.

“Loren Cordain, Ph.D., the world’s leading expert on Paleolithic diets and founder of the Paleo movement has taught us how to eat wholesome.  He bases this on how the Hunter –gatherer ancestors would have eaten. Dr Cordain has researched this for decades and his scientific colleagues demonstrate that hunter-gatherers typically were free from the chronic illnesses and diseases that are epidemic in Western populations, including:”

  • Obesity
  • Cardiovascular disease (heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure, congestive heart failure, atherosclerosis)
  • Type 2 diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Autoimmune diseases (multiple sclerosis, rheumatoid arthritis, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, etc.)
  • Osteoporosis
  • Acne
  • Myopia (nearsightedness), muscular degeneration, glaucoma
  • Varicose veins, hemorrhoids, diverticulitis, gastric reflux
  • Gout

So what do you eat on Paleo?  

You can eat all lean meat, fish, seafood & eggs

  • You can eat all non-starchy seasonal vegetables
  • Plenty of seasonal fruit
  • Moderate healthy fats
  • Moderate nuts and seeds
  • No grains or cereals at all
  • No legumes
  • No dairy products (eggs are not dairy)
  • No processed foods – make it yourself!
  • No sugars. Agave, organic honey, molasses, pure spun golden sunshine….it does not  matter. THEY ARE ALL OUT.
  • No artificial sweeteners. These are not food! They are out too.

I would have to say I am 90% living the paleoethic way.  There are times that I make the choice to have something not good for me. I am quickly reminded the food that my body is alergic to. And I am here to tell you that is most of the processed foods. I get severe stomach pains when I eat those foods.  When I do venture into the no no land of foods, I do so very limited and not very often either because it is just not worth it usually. 

Since being Paleo, I am happy to report that I no longer have daily headaches, I have not had any migraines, I sleep through the night without the aid of medication, my allergies are minimal, therefore I do not have to take daily medication. My back and hips are not bothering me, unless of course I just worked the shit out of myself at the gym and then that is a good hurt. LOL

I will never go back to eating unhealthy again,  the benefits of eating Paleo so out way the awful reactions I have when I don’t eat that way. And I am feeling sexy at 44! Look the first form fitting dress I have worn in 22 years! Thats Paleo baby!!!!

