Since I started my journey into a paleoish lifestyle my taste buds have changed significantly. I never was one to like Hot and Spicy food. Coming from a heritage background which consists of Mexican descent, you would think I would have loved it.  I grew up watching my whole family loving everything Spicy. Well what do you know… now apparently I do too.   I love me a variety of  hot sauces, hot peppers, hot spices.  Funny since I do not put  all those processed, artificial ingredients on my tongue it has opened up a whole level of tastes for me.

The fun part of eating this way is discovering the abundance of healthy recipes that are out there and getting to try them for the first time.
Among all the internet sites, cook books, Pintrest boards or Facebook posts, I found this really cool website with great recipes in it.

Living low carb one day at a time.

Tonight I am very excited to try this recipe.  Lets see how hot and spicy this will be:

Buffalo Chicken Burgers with Cucumber Slaw

(Low Carb and Gluten Free)

I used the following ingredients for Low Carb Buffalo Chicken Burger with Cucumber Slaw:
Buffalo Burgers:
1 lb ground chicken
1/4 cup buffalo sauce
1/2 cup shredded grass fed cheese (I used shredded cheddar)
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp celery seed
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 egg (optional)

Cucumber Slaw:
2 medium cucumbers, seeds removed and grated
2 Tbsp shredded carrot
2 Tbsp homemade mayonnaise
1 tsp Dijon mustard
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 tsp celery seed
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp salt and pepper

Preheat a grill or grill pan over medium-high heat.  Oil as necessary to prevent sticking.  In a bowl, mix all of the ingredients,except the chicken.  Add the chicken and stir (or use your hands) until the buffalo sauce mixture is incorporated. Form the meat into 3-4 equal patties.

Grill the patties for 5-7 minutes on one side. Flip the burger over and brush with additional buffalo sauce. Cook for another 5 mins or until cooked through.

Serve the burger on a lettuce leaf and top with Cucumber Slaw (to make the slaw combine all the ingredients in a bowl).

For those carb conscious;
Net Carb Count*:
Buffalo Chicken Burgers:  3 net carbs (for the entire recipe)
Cucumber Slaw:  11 net carbs (for the entire recipe)