There has been many articles that I have read on this thing called Leaky Gut Syndrome. Just the words alone are disturbing, never mind the definition. Many doctors have suggested that Leaky Gut is the root of most health issues.
Well what is leaky Gut Syndrome?
So our small intestine have a mucus lining and this allows particles to be absorbed by the body into the bloodstream. Well in the small intestine nutrients are absorbed through a semi-permeable lining or hair like structures of the intestinal wall. The lining of the intestine regulates what gets in or out of the body.
When you have leaky gut syndrome this regulation is lost and you’re intestinal lining become permeable which means anything will be able to get in our out. When the stomach lining is damaged this compromises your digestion and leads to leaky gut. So then what happens is the bacteria in the intestines will produce toxic chemicals and gas. These toxins are called endotoxins. These endotoxins can then damage the mucus lining and this will increase intestinal permeability and over time will cause erosion of the lining.

Leaky gut can lead to many issues such as Crohns, Diverticulitis, Celiac disease and others.

Here are some factors that may contribute to leaky gut:
Alcohol and caffeine
Antibiotic medications
Antacid medications
Anti-inflammatory medications like aspirin or ibuprofen
Food additives
Food allergies
Bowel infections
Stress
Possible symptoms of Leaky Gut Syndrome
Fatigue
Joint and muscle aches
Nutritional deficiencies
Food allergies
Abdominal pain and bloating
Skin rashes
Confusion and memory loss

Have you ever really looked at the ingredients in the processed food you put into your system? There are words that I can’t even pronounce and definitely many I have never even heard of. And what’s worse is these ingredients are causing cancer, diabetes and heart disease. Things like Sodium Nitrite, Acrylamides, Hydrochloride, Castoreum, Titanium Dioxide, & Cellulose among the many other ingredients that go on for 3-20+ lines long on the side of your package.

Paleo eliminates all those ingredients. You eat only fresh ingredients, protien, vegetables, nuts and fruits. Therefore reducing your risk for cancer, diabetes and heart disease. Why would we want to put this stuff into our body? More importantly we need to stop putting it into our children’s bodies. Its time we change the quality of food we put in our mouths.

I have a very sensitive stomach along with being overweight so I decided to take a closer look at what I am eating. I am not perfect, I have mishaps occasionally. But I know each positive step I take puts me one step closer to making myself healthier. I can tell you since eating clean with Paleo I have minimal problems with bloating, gas pains and uneasy feelings in my stomach like I use to. This coupled with the healthy benefits is enough to keep me on track for sure because there is nothing worse than an upset stomach all the time.

