It just recently was pointed out to me that BACON has sugar in it.  Even the uncured no nitrate bacon that I have been buying. This really saddens me.  Here all along I thought that the bacon I have been buying had no sugar.  The nutrition percentages show 0% sugar. However if you read the ingredients you will find sugar, or cane juice or brown sugar.

My bacon of choice has always been

Farmland Uncured Bacon, All Natural 

NUTRITION FACTS
Serving size 2 pan fried slices (15g)
  Value My Daily Value
Calories 90 Kcal ?  
Total Fat 8 g ?  
Saturated Fat 2.5 g ?  
Trans Fat 0 g ?  
Cholesterol 20 mg ?  
Sodium 250 mg ?  
Total Carbohydrate 0 g ?  
Dietary Fiber 0 g ?  
Sugars 0 g ?  
Protein 5 g ?  
Vitamin A 0 IU ?  
Vitamin C 0 mg ?  
Calcium 0 mg ?  
Iron 0 mg ?  
INGREDIENTS   pork, water, sea salt, cane sugar, natural flavors, lactic acid starter culture (natural fermenting agent).
 
 

Even the Applegate Sunday Bacon has sugar in it!!!

Nutrition Facts 
  % Daily Value*
Total Fat 5g 8%
Saturated Fat 2g 10%
Trans Fat 0g  
Cholesterol 10mg 3%
Sodium 290mg 12%
Total Carbs 0g 0%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 0g
Protein 4g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 0%
 
Ingredients: Organic Pork, Water, Sea Salt. Contains Less Than 2% Of The Following: Organic Evaporated Cane Syrup, Celery Powder.

 

According to the Bacon Manifesto of the Whole 9,  unless it is completely sugar free it is not considered Paleo. However unless you find a local farm that sells the bacon you will be hard pressed to find this bacon in any regular grocery store or even an organic store.

It’s really quite upsetting that it is so hard to find all good things for our bodies. Whats even more disturbing is that when you do find those items that are naturaly fresh and without additives and preseratives your paying an arm and a leg for it. It’s no wonder most of americans eat so unhealthy and are over weight.  It’s cheaper to go to McD’s and eat off the dollar menu or buy a frozen pizza to feed your family instead of buying and preparing a fresh home cooked meal. 

In any event I will still eat the bacon, because I love the bacon!!! And at least I know I am buying uncurred nitrate free bacon to enjoy and not the curred bacon loaded with CRAP.  As I have said I am Paleo….ishhhhhhhhh!!!!

WHOLE 30 Approved

Here is a link to Local Harvest Farms in your area!

Have you every tried the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) they say its a convenient way for us consumers to buy fresh local seasonal food direct from the farmer.

