I have noticed in many paleo blogs and publications that Ghee is used often.  They say that it is the best to use with high heat.  I really had never heard of ghee until I began my paleo journey. I see that people use it to sauté many things, people even put it in their coffee for “bullet proof coffee” As with the coconut oil, it also has many other uses, such as a digestive and elimination aid, it’s used for energy, sexual vitality (hmmm this is very interesting), skin and eye health, as a lubricant for the joints and for alkalizing the blood. Ghee is an essential ingredient in many body-detoxifying recipes. 

Ghee is semi-purified butter. It is the pure butterfat left over after the milk solids and water are removed from butter. It is used widely in Indian cooking, and the word ghee is the Hindi word for fat. Ghee contains Omega 3 and Omega 9 essential fatty acids along with vitamins A, D, E and K.

Sound like I need to incorporate Ghee into my daily cooking.

What is your fat of choice when cooking?

