finger memoryThis is comical yet a little scary to me.  This brain fog, forgetfulness, memory loss…whatever you call it.  I deal with this on a daily basis.  To the point where I have to retrace my steps more times than I can mention just to go back to the original spot to think about what it was that I was just going to do.  My kids will ask me if I remember something or someone from when they were younger and I am like uh no sorry I don’t remember.  They get so mad at me.  MA.. YOU DON’T REMEMBER ANYTHING!!!  It’s crazy!!!  Or how about if I am yelling at one of them (yes I yell) and in the middle of trying to get my point across the words come out all jumbled like I am possessed.  Well then what ever I was angry about goes out the window because they bust out laughing at me which then throws me into a fit of laughter myself.  Or how about the fact that I can’t remember the names of people I went to school with. Last year was my reunion, thank goodness we did name badges because the reunion 5 years earlier I couldn’t remember anyone’s name.  Movie and song titles I can’t remember either. The craziest of all… is loosing my sunglasses, looking everywhere for them even driving back to where I have been to see if I left them on the counter…Only to find out they are on top of my head. Really!!  Or how about loosing my phone and going crazy looking for it only to find out it is in my hand.  I swear sometimes I think I am loosing it.   I have to write lists of everything I need to do at work daily, lists for the grocery store, lists of things to pack for vacation, I am surprised I don’t need a list with directions on how to get from my bedroom to the bathroom.  LOL

I don’t understand how this happens or how this can happen at my age. I am a 44,   I know to some this seems old (probably just my kids) but I am pretty young looking , spunky and vibrant (so they say).  Is this an early stage of dementia????  I know brain activity slows with age but this is ridiculous.

Well it seems I am not alone with this problem.  The more I talk to people about it. The more common it seems to be.

So I have been reading and I am learning that  brain activity slows with age but that doesn’t mean we have to live with it.  There are ways to improve our focus and sluggish memory.

Our brains crave fat.  In fact our brain is made up of about 60% of fat.  This fat keeps our brain cell membranes flexible so nutrients and neurotransmitters (brain chemicals that allow nerves and cells to communicate with each other) readily flow in and out the the cells.

Omega 3 fats in fish

  • Fatty fish, such as salmon,  tuna, herring and halibut contain the most omega-3 fatty acids and therefore the most benefit, but many types of seafood contain small amounts of omega-3 fatty acids
  • omega-3 fatty acids play a crucial role in brain function, as well as normal growth and development. They have also become popular because they may reduce the risk of heart disease.
  • A number of studies show that reduced intake of omega-3 fatty acids is associated with increased risk of age related cognitive decline or dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease. Scientists believe the omega-3 fatty acid DHA is protective against Alzheimer’s disease and dementia.

 Coconut oil

  •  important that many Alzheimer prevention experts suggest significantly increasing consumption of them.
  • Coconut oil is considered one of the best fuels for healthy brain function. Outside of mother’s milk, coconut oil is nature’s richest source of medium chain triglycerides (MCTs). Medium chain triglycerides (MCT) are not processed by your body in the same manner as long chain triglycerides. Normal fat metabolism depends on bile salts that have been released from your gallbladder before it can be broken down in your digestive system.
  • The average sized adult should consume 3-4 tablespoons of coconut oil daily. This could be taken orally, added to food, or applied onto skin. It can be taken in the form of coconut oil, milk, meat, or flakes. Coconut milk provides approximately 1 Tbsp of coconut oil for every 3 ounces. People with diabetes (type I & II) or neurological disease would benefit from up to 8-10 tablespoons of coconut oil daily

Exercise

  • Exercise is one of the best ways to combat brain fog.
  • 30 minutes of cardio a day can do the trick

Vitamin * speak to your doctor before doing this.

  • Consider taking Ginkgo biloba (500mg)
  • CoQ10 (100mg) this has been know to boost blood flow and increase focus and concentration.
