So every now and again I need to recharge my body for one reason or another. Usually because I have fallen off the beaten path and haven’t made such great choices. (not horrible, just not great)   Sometimes I just know when my body is needing it.  Then sometimes it is for different reasons.  You can always find a reason to do the Whole 30! It is all about recharging, refueling, healing, changing your craving habits, enhancing your mood and emotional state.  Well quite frankly I need it all right now.

It’s been 11 days since I have smoked a real cigarette! Or I should say bought a pack of cigarettes.  I switched to the EZ cigarette with only 2.1% nicotine. That is 6.9 less than regular cigarettes.  I have found that I am not smoking as much as I was previously, however I think that I am craving other things with a vengeance. And it is making me a little depressed actually.

So  I have decided to do the whole 30 for the 4th time since beginning Paleo.  The biggest challenge for me Always comes down to the sugar. I am a sugar craving lunatic. There is nothing else I crave more than sugar, sweets, candy, dessert. And since cutting down on my nicotine that is all I think about.  Of course I certainly didn’t have any of the chocolate cake that was in my face for 2 days thanks LJ!  But I did have my share of Chocolate covered Acai blueberries.

So off to the grocery store I will go today and stock up on veggies, protein, fruit and nuts and try like hell to find a bacon with NO sugar in it.

How many times have you started the WHOLE 30 program?

Check out my Pintrest board for Whole 30 Recipes, or my other Paleo boards.

I will be trying these little buggers;

20130815buffalotomatoes1

BUFFALO CHICKEN SALAD STUFFED TOMATOES
Makes enough to stuff 2 lbs of tomatoes

INGREDIENTS  

  • 2 lbs small tomatoes (bigger than cherry tomatoes, but small enough that you can eat them in two bites)
  • 1 lb cooked chicken meat, chopped or shredded (I chopped mine because I like chunky chicken salad, but shredded would be easier to stuff into tomatoes)
  • 2-3 stalks celery, finely chopped
  • 3 Tbs minced red onion
  • 1 carrot, peeled and shredded
  • 4 Tbs buffalo wing sauce (I used Frank’s). If you only have regular hot sauce and not wing sauce, use 2 Tbs hot sauce + 2 Tbs mayo (milder) or 3 Tbs hot sauce + 1 Tbs mayo (hotter)
  • 4 Tbs ranch dip (recipe follows, or use storebought ranch dressing such asTessemae’s)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Mix the wing sauce and ranch dip in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients other than the tomatoes and mix thoroughly. Taste and season with salt and pepper.
  3. Cut a thin slice off the stem end of each tomato. Scoop out the insides (you can use your fingers but I used one of these scoops). Fill the tomatoes with chicken salad, pressing down with the back of a spoon. Serve with extra wing sauce for drizzling.

DAIRY-FREE RANCH DIP
Makes a generous 1/4 cup

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 Tbs mayo
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbs fresh minced parsley
  • 1 Tbs french minced chives or scallion greens
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • Pinch paprika
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

Combine all ingredients. Refrigerate until serving.

Recipe courtesy of: Stuff I make my Husband

