There is nothing better then the smell of chicken soup simmering all afternoon on a beautiful fall day. Especially when I have been sick all week. I remember growing up whenever I got sick the first thing my mom made me was Chicken soup. I always remember how good it made me feel.

The mayo clinic has stated that “chicken soup acts as an anti-inflammatory by inhibiting the movement of neutrophils — immune system cells that participate in the body’s inflammatory response. Second, it temporarily speeds up the movement of mucus, possibly helping relieve congestion and limiting the amount of time viruses are in contact with the nose lining.”

I can’t wait to grab a bowl of it and start to feel better. The next best thing will be the awesome bone broth I will get from the bones of the chicken tomorrow. Yea I know I should have made the bone broth before the soup and used it for the soup. Oh well this way I get two uses. I will enjoy broth all week long.

20131019-212644.jpg

Ingredients
1 roasted chicken ( pull all the meat off, dark and white)
4 extra large carrots or 5-6 regular
4 extra large parsnips or 5-6 regular
(I got colossal carrots and parsnips at the farm store today lol)
6 stalks of celery (diced)
1 bunch fresh chives (diced thin)
1 bunch fresh parsley (diced)
2 Tbl thyme
1 Tbl Himalayan Pink Salt
1 tsp sage
2 tsp basil
4 Cups organic chicken stock
4-5 Cups water (depending on the size of your crockpot)

Place all ingredients into crockpot cook on low for 8-10 hours!! Enjoy

Chicken soup

