ketoratiosI posted about this back in July, but today I am embarking the Keto plan again.

This past week has been an emotional roller coaster ride for me. And unfortunately for me that means “emotional eating”.  Since starting Paleo in February,  this has to have been the worst week of eating I have had. I ate everything from Pizza, cheesecake, candy, cupcakes, ice cream, buffalo chicken dip and I am cringing typing these to  you, but some tostito chips too. Yup all that in one week of “Emotional eating” Bad.. Bad ..Bad!! But between that and the many tears I cried, I think that it was  what I needed to do to release the emotions I have been feeling.

This weekend I went out and planned my menu for the next week, downloaded my app again to count my carbs and I am ready to get a handle on myself. LOL

I will utilize my Carb Diet App which is on my iPhone. I will be untraditional tracking my Paleo intake. This is not normally what you need to do on Paleo.  However, since I want to track exactly how many carbs I have eaten that day and make sure I consume more fat and just the right amount of protein,  I need to do it.  I will not give a time frame as I will just continue with it as I feel the need and if I feel like not tracking then I will of course just eat Paleo.  However, the important point I should make is it takes a few days to get into Ketosis and it only takes a day to get out of it, so I need to be as on point as possible.

If your thinking about trying this, some key information is; Stay away from Fruit, it is very high in Carbs, Google your veggies, some veggies are also very high in carbs and starchy. Make sure your carbs are only in the 20-50g of net carbs a day. Using net carbs reduces the impact of high-fiber foods such as vegetables and most nuts and allows you to have more of them.  I will be using ketosis detection strips, you can purchase these at your local drug store.  These are used in your urine stream.  Follow the chart on the container.  Generally ketone concentrations are lower in the morning and higher in the evening.  I always do the first pee of the morning.ketonecolorstrip2b

When your body in ketosis, you may often smell of acetone, this could be sensed in your breath, sweat or urine. Avoid chewing gun and mints though it may push you out of ketosis.

Come on over to my Boards on Pintrest for Low Carb /Keto food ideas

http://www.pinterest.com/sassyandpaleois/paleo-keto-meals/

http://www.pinterest.com/sassyandpaleois/paleo-low-carb/

Or here are some links to some great resources;

Keto Diet

Keto Diet App

Paleo Hacks on how to start Ketogenic diet

Ketosis Vs. Ketoacidosis

Many people, including doctors, dietitians and health professionals, confuse ketosis with ketoacidosis and advise against low-carb diets because of this. If you eat a low-carb diet (which could be defined as providing less than 50 g of carbs a day), you will likely be in ketosis. In other words, it means that your body will be primarily utilizing fat (both the fat you eat and the fat you have stored on your body) and ketones (a by-product of fat oxidation) for energy.

Ketosis as the result of a low-carb diet is also referred to as nutritional ketosis.  Ketosis is not dangerous and simply means that the levels of ketones in your body are slightly higher (between 3 and 5 mM vs. 0.5 mM with a high-carb diet) compared to a sugar burner because your body has become a fat burner. (5)

Ketoacidosis, on the other hand, is a medical emergency and occurs when ketone levels rise 5 to 10-fold higher compared to nutritional ketosis (between 15 and 25 mM). Ketoacidosis can only happen in the almost complete absence of insulin, such as in uncontrolled type 1 diabetes. (5)

***Always check with your doctor first before making any changes to your diet, especially if you decide to adopt a ketogenic diet. If you have blood sugar issues, diabetes, hypertension or any other medical conditions and/or take prescribed medications, consult your doctor or registered dietitian for help during the transition to a lower carb diet. Decreasing your carb intake can rapidly lower your blood sugar levels, blood pressure and other health parameters, which may require prompt adjustments to your medications or medical treatment.***.

Here is a quick general list of what carbs look like in Vegetables

These are just a few on the lower carb veggies. Here is a link for a more extensive list.

How many carbs are in vegetables

