20140121-094312.jpg

I have been wanting to make  Beef bone broth for some time now.  I have made chicken bone broth and thought it was so so. But haven’t made it enough to perfect my recipe. A friend of mine makes a spectacular one. You should check her page out Pretty in Paleo.  Besides the huge benefits of drinking Bone Broth, it is super delicious!!!!

I prepared my broth tonight, I am so excited for it to be done.   I used the recipe from  Nomnompaleo.  Now I am eager to see if my broth will gel to perfection.

Did you know;  Bone broth or stock was a way our ancestors made use of every part of an animal.  Bones and marrow, skin and feet, tendons and ligaments that you can’t eat directly, can be boiled then simmered over a period of days.  This simmering causes the bones and ligaments to release healing compounds like collagen, proline, glycine, and glutamine that have the power to transform your health.

Gelatin in bone broths contains “conditional” amino acids arginine, glycine, glutamine and proline.  These amino acids also contribute to stock’s healing properties.

Arginine

  • Necessary for immune system function and wound healing
  • Needed for the production and release of growth hormone
  • Helps regenerate damaged liver cells
  • Needed for the production of sperm

Glycine

  • Prevents breakdown of protein tissue like muscle
  • Used to make bile salts and glutathione
  • Helps detoxify the body of chemicals and acts as antioxidant4
  • Is a neurotransmitter that improves sleep and improves memory and performance

Proline

  • Helps regenerate cartilage and heal joints
  • Reduces cellulite and makes skin more supple
  • Helps repair leaky gut

Glutamine

  • Protects gut lining
  • Metabolic fuel for cells in small intestine
  • Improves metabolism and muscle building

Remember, bone broth is rich in minerals that support the immune system and contains healing compounds like collagen, glutamine, glycine, and proline.

The collagen in bone broth will heal your gut lining and reduce intestinal inflammation.  In addition, collagen will support healthy skin and can reduce the appearance of cellulite.  Also, the glycine in bone broth can detoxify your cells from chemicals and improve brain function.

Wish me luck!!!

 

image

1.21.14 Update
Bone Broth is delicious!!! I did not get the jelly like appearance but I did have to scrap off a big chunk of fat from the top. I am supper happy with taste of it!!!

