20140120-165414.jpg

This sounds strange to most people. But this coffee is very popular in the Paleo world. It is known to supercharge your brain function and create effortless fat loss with no cravings. The first time I made the coffee I wasn’t impressed. I prepared everything according to what I “thought” was the proper way. I mixed the butter and oil in my coffee… with a wisk. This is not an easy task and it didn’t taste so good, probably because it didn’t look so appealing, there was lots of oil on the top of my coffee and pieces of butter floating. Haha Needless to say that was a turn off. Hmphhhh
Until that is…I learned the proper way to make it. Uh huh blend not stir!!

Ingredients
Coffee of choice ( Paleo gurus suggest you buy the “Bullet Proof Coffee Beans”) any will do
2 Tbl Kerrygold Butter
1-2 Tbl coconut oil -coconut butter works well too as I did experiment with that but not sure that the affects are as great as the oil.
*Paleo gurus call for MCT oil

My steps
1 blender of choice ( hand or counter style)
I bought a handy hand mixer that blends wonderfully, so I will be using this.
Put butter and oil into coffee cup, add pod to Keurig, brew coffee over oil and butter helping it to melt.
Pour coffee into blender cup and mix 1 min until butter and oil have completely melted and a froth has appeared.
Pour into favorite Coffee mug and enjoy the wonderful taste of a renewed Java experience.

No need for almond milk, coconut milk or any sweetener. The frothy goodness that you sip on is just perfect with out any of that. You will notice the bitterness from the coffee is no longer an issue and the coffee is smooth and delicious. Notice how the color eludes you to think there is a cream of sorts in there.

This cup of coffee alone is probably about 10x healthier than your current breakfast, and it has the calories to match. But having said that, healthy fats, if you are not accustomed to digeting them, can be a little rough on the stomach. I recommend starting with just 1 Tbs and moving up.

Differences in MCT Oil vs Coconut Oil

MCT stands for medium-chain triglycerides I think. In a nut shell, medium and small chain fatty acids are easier to burn than long chain fatty acids, which is what makes up your stored body fat. The small and medium chain fatty acids are a healthy fat and help meet your fat requirements while according to some, boost production of ketones which carries over to long chain fatty acids when the small and medium chains are used up.

Coconut Oil Is 60%-65% MCT Oil. However, it is only 15% of the better MCT’s whereas straight MCT oil has much higher quantities of Caprylic and Capric acid.

Coconut oil is unique because it is composed predominately of MCT. The size of the fatty acid is extremely important because physiological effects of medium-chain fatty acids in coconut oil are distinctly different from the long-chain fatty acids more commonly found in our diet. It’s the MCT in coconut oil that make it different from all other fats and for the most part gives it its unique character and healing properties. Almost all of the medium-chain triglycerides used in research, medicine, and food products come from coconut oil.

So in a nut shell it is a matter of preference really. It is my understanding the MCT doesn’t really have a taste, so if you are someone who dislikes the coconut flavor then I would go for the straight MCT oil. I have also read in many blogs and threads that MCT oil is pretty hard to find local and is pricey so therefore coconut oil is the better way to go.

All I know is I am addicted to my Bullet proof coffee and can’t wait for my next cup.

20140120-165305.jpg

