20140306-063513.jpg

The dreaded scale. This use to drive me absolutely nuts. I had to step on it every day. And my world would come crashing down if I gained 5 lbs. Then the crash diet would start. Always whatever the diet craze of the year was, Atkins, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, South Beach you name it I did it and that was all back in HS. I remember always having this overwhelming feeling of keeping up with the

▶️IMAGE◀️

the image of every bombshell actress, the skinny body, tan skin and blonde hair! .
I did everything I could to look the part. I remember I was a Junior in HS and at this point I was exercising every day “Jane Fonda” in my room, and using hand weights. I wasn’t thin enough so I started using diet pills. Dexatrim I believe it was. I popped one of those magic pills as often as the box said I could . I remember one morning I woke up and I got in the shower, while in the shower… I almost passed out! The room went nearly black. I stumbled and I was able to grab onto the glass shower door handle and sit myself down. I remember having this overwhelming heat rush through my body and feelings disoriented. I was scared shit!!!! I knew right then it was those diet pills. Thankfully nothing horrible happened to me. And my body was just yelling at me

That’s Enough

I Stopped taking those pills! I did however continue to watch my weight but not as closely. Oh but for sure the scale always came into play though still stepping on it every morning. Only difference is I would start to slightly ignore it. By the time I hit 20 I was not a size 7 but now a 9/10. This was certainly associated with living on my own eating takeout, going out on the weekends to dance at what ever the hot place to be was and having a few drinks. At 22 I got married and pregnant. Haha let me reverse that , I got pregnant then married the dumb ass. Wait I guess that made me the “Dumb Ass” for marrying the idiot. Lmao. And from there if you have read “My Journey” above you know I ballooned in my weight over the next 22 years with pregnancies and a terrible marriage for 15 years.
Finally a year ago, my children were men, ages 22 and 19 and I found Paleo. I learned how to eat right and take care of my body. At first it became all about the dreaded scale again, stepping on it every day. Watching the weight melt away. But this time it was different. I know I am getting healthy. I have lost a significant amount of weight and inches. I dropped 4 sizes. Yahoooo!

Today I don’t need to step on that scale daily. I will finally put that damn scale away and just concentrate on keeping on the healthy track. I actually enjoy eating within my Paleo lifestyle. We don’t need a scale to tell us how we are doing. Our body can tell us, our clothes will definitely tell us. The mirror doesn’t lie.
I will not be defined by a Number on a scale any longer.

What is your story? How did you find Paleo?

