kombucha starter

My good friend and Paleo sister, Pretty in Paleo shared a starter kit of Kombucha with me.

I followed the directions step by step, I took my tea bags out this morning, hopefully this wasn’t to long to steep.  I emptied the ingredients of the starter Scoby with tea into the 1 gallon Mason Jar she shared with me and the gallon of tea I steeped,  and finally placed a paper towel over the top of the opening and secured it with a rubber band. Next I marked my calendar. Now I wait for 7-10 for the fermentation process to complete.

So first you must be wondering what the hell is Kombucha?

Kombucha is a tea-based beverage that is often drunk for its health benefits or medicinal purposes.

Kombucha is a living health drink made by fermenting tea and sugar with the Kombucha culture. The result can taste like something between sparkling apple cider and champagne, depending on what kind of tea you use.

Next what in the heck is a Scoby? A Scoby stands for “Symbiotic Culture of friendly Bacteria and Yeast”.  The scoby metabolizes the organic sugar and the caffeine in the organic green and black tea resulting in a beverage that contains billions of probiotics, vitamins such as B, C, amino acids and enzymes.

So now that you have that information; What are the benefits to drinking Kombucha?

Drinking Kombucha tea seems to alleviate a number of ailments. In addition, it helps to prevent the onset of illness and promote health even as we age.

  • Detoxification produces healthy livers and aides cancer prevention
  • Kombucha contains; glucosamine, which is a strong preventive.  It also is a treatment for all forms of arthritis.
  • Kombucha is a probiotic beverage. This has a multitude of benefits such as;  improved digestion, fighting harmful yeast overgrowth, mental clarity, and mood stability.
  • Kombucha is extraordinarily anti-oxidant rich.  The benefits of anti-oxidants for boosting your immune system and energy levels are just amazing.

When I first tried Kombucha, I was in my local Whole Foods Store I am one to try all that is good for me.  I have to say I truly didn’t like the one I grabbed.  It had a bunch of Chai seeds in it, which when I sipped it reminded me of little tiny fish eggs in my mouth or less disgusting tapioca pearls. Then I tried another flavor on a different day with out the Chai. This seemed ok.  But I still wasn’t loving it.  So I just continued to drink my coconut water that I LOVE.  Soon my friend was making her own and little by little she shared it with me and now I have grown to like it. More importantly I love the benefits of drinking Kombucha.

So stay tuned in a couple of days I will let you know how mine came out.

 

kombucha<

